Frequently Asked Questions

Yes! Our course is 100% approved by FLHSMV. Our course is accepted for

Miami-Dade citations ONLY. Palm Beach County citations ONLY.

We are not approved for out of state violations. If you did not receive your ticket in Miami-Dade County, please refer to the FLHSMV website for a list of approved schools for your county.

It's very easy to register! Click Here to start the process. You will enter some basic information, and you will be able to start the course in just a few minutes! You can also call one of our defensive driving specialists at (888) 711-6974 for assistance! We're here to help!

Our course is Only $4.95

We offer the SHORTEST COURSE allowed by the state of Florida. It is timed for 4 hours and complies with all guidelines. You do not need to complete the course all at once. Your progress is saved as you go, and you can log in and out as many times as you'd like.

Yes! 100% online! You can complete the ENTIRE course from a computer or smart device!

No. You can log in and out as many times as you'd like. Your progress is saved automatically as you go. When you are ready to continue, Log In Here with the username and password you created at registration, and you will be taken to the section you last completed.

Our course is broken down into four easy sections of reading material. As required by Florida law, the course is timed for four hours. Each section has a timer, and you will not be able to continue until you've spent the required amount of time on the page.

Yes, there is. The 4-hour course features a 40-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score an 80% or higher to pass.

You may retake final exam if you do not obtain a passing score of 80% or higher on your first try.

Yes, there is an accompanying study-guide for you to reference WHILE you take your final exam.

This course is required by Florida law to span 4 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.

You can take as much time as you need to complete the course as long as you finish before the due date course, make sure to determine your due date to avoid being late.

Contact your insurance provider to determine whether they offer discount for successful completion of a traffic school course. If they do, simply enroll in the 4-hour BDI course, work through it at your own pace, and turn in your certificate of completion to your insurance provider when you’re finished!

Your FLHSMV issued completion receipt is emailed to you within 24-72 hours of completing the course.

There are multiple reasons drivers choose to take a Florida BDI course. You can take this course for any of the following reasons:

  • Keep points off your driving record after getting a traffic ticket for a non-criminal moving violation (if you take BDI voluntarily).
  • Receive a 9% reduction in the cost of your civil penalty if you received a noncriminal moving violation that does not require a mandatory court appearance and elect to take a Basic Driver Improvement course.
  • Satisfy a court order (For example, a judge has ordered you to take driver improvement).
  • Fulfill a course requirement to retain your license if the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles sent you a notice to take BDI for one of the following offenses:
    • Passing a school bus that is stopped
    • Running a red light
    • Reckless driving
    • Racing on the highway (you will be required to take a course whether you were an active participant or a spectator)
    • Being the driver in a car accident in which you are at fault and someone was taken to the hospital, or being at fault for two accidents within 2 years, which caused over $500 of property damage

If you wish to take a BDI course voluntarily, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. You have not elected to take this course within the past 12 months.
  2. You do not hold a commercial driver license.
  3. You may only elect to take this course a total of 5 times during your lifetime.

If you have any question regarding your eligibility, please contact the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles with further inquiry.

During the registration, you will be asked several questions related to things you like and do, Remember the answers to these questions. We recommend writing down your answers because you will be asked theme again throughout the course. For example, one question is "What is your favorite animal?"
You must answer all personal validation questions correctly to move forwarded to the next question correctly to move forwarded to the next section.

If a driver has been ordered by a court to attend a driver improvement school, they must notify the court once they have completed the school and also provide the necessary documentation to the court.

Any driver charged with a moving or non-moving traffic violation that would result in points assessed to their driving record.

Exclusions:

  • All criminal violations; and

  • Drivers who hold a Commercial Driver License (CDL) regardless of the type of vehicle they are driving at the time of the violation.

When a driver completes a driver improvement course to satisfy a violation:

  • Adjudication is withheld (not convicted of the violation) per section 318.14, Florida Statutes;

  • No points will be assessed against the driver license for the violation; and

  • Insurance companies cannot impose an additional premium or refuse to renew a policy for motor vehicle insurance solely because the insured committed a non-criminal traffic infraction. Exceptions include:

    • A second infraction within 18 months;

    • A third infarction within 36 months; or

    • Exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph.

Yes. Contact the traffic division of the clerk of court in the county where the citation was received to determine the exact cost of the civil fine.

Drivers may elect to attend a driver improvement course at a clerk’s office in the county where the citation was received, or if the officer provided an envelope when issuing the citation, drivers may use it to indicate the intent to attend a driver improvement course. Read the affidavit attached to the envelope for information and instructions.

For more information, consult the traffic division in the clerk’s office of the county where the citation was issued.

For additional questions you may have, you can contact the clerk’s office in the county where the citation was issued or visit the FLHSMV FAQ page.

Smart Phone Capable
Defensive driving smart phone capable
Online traffic school for Florida
Privacy Policy | Refund Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact Us
© 2017 Cheaper Faster Easier Florida - All Rights Reserved.